Skip to content

Life’s simple pleasures

June 1, 2011

Nic told me I should accompany my photo entries with a simple story.  So here’s a little something from my trip to the land of Pili nuts. 🙂

I shall miss my Mom’s  province (fo’ real), so I decided to make a wonderland entry to remind me how beautiful it is in this simple and humble town.  When I was younger, I didn’t really like the long road trips, the old folk tales, and the early curfew. (I think the whole neighborhood went to sleep when the town bell rang at 8 in the evening!) Plus, I rarely had the opportunity to go during Summer because I was always busy with summer classes/activities.  But this year, my schedule cleared up specially for this trip and opted to go.  When we got there, mom brought us to a family property in the town of Mangcamagong.

 

This beach is also a fishing spot for the locals of Matugtuog. We caught sight of fishermen + a fisherWOMAN when the kids went walking by the shore and got first hand experience at fishing.  This was the catch along with a sea snake, shrimps, a mini swordfish, and a baby squid.  They gave us a bag of fish to take home. 🙂

 

Below, is the stream that separates Mangcamagong and Matugtuog at low tide. (There’s suppose to be a bridge somewhere at the end.)

 

And getting some “Scramble” (Flavored crush ice+powerdered milk+chocolate  syrup+local version of M&Ms aka Nips) during a hot afternoon at Bagasbas Beach was pretty popular there.

 

This is… just something random… I just love taking photos of trees. 🙂

 

And of course, our Easter Sunday there wouldn’t be complete without the homemade Lechon (Roast Pig). YUM! =)

 

It’s really nice how things as simple as this can make you smile and look forward to the next vacation. But I hope by then all the relatives could come home to celebrate like the good old days. 🙂  To end, here’s a little picture that I’m sure my friends Chai & Drei would like… a cloud shaped like a heart. 🙂

 

Thanks for taking the time to read this.  ‘Til my next wonderland entry. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

