Skip to content

To my Rock Star

June 20, 2011

Even if it’s a little past Father’s Day I still wanted to share this with you guys.

WARNING: This post is text heavy but I still hope you could take the time to read it.

Back when I was a little girl, I already knew what I wanted to be when I grew up. I remember listening to you sing whenever you’d perform for the Filipinos in Hong Kong during the yearly Concert in the Park gigs. I was in kindergarten then and I recall listening to your voice as people cheered. But I never watched you and would always have my back facing the stage.  I couldn’t exactly remember why, I guess it’s because I was pretty shy.

 

I wasn’t as bibbo as other kids and I couldn’t sing for the crowd during parties like other little girls.  I wasn’t anything like you… You knew how to put on a good show, how to please the crowd, and how to put a smile on their faces.

 

In Primary school, I sucked at Math so I tried to balance things out through extra-curricular achievements.  I remember how you use to help me with my homework when I had difficulty drawing animals for science class, how I’d get scolded for bad penmanship, and how you’d reward me with one item from Toys’R’Us whenever I did well in school.  Come Primary 6, I still knew what I wanted to be, but I couldn’t find it in the list of occupations provided by the career tests.

 

I know life was tough and we didn’t have much property to our name, so my dream was pretty simple.  I wanted to be a singer just like you – to be able to do gigs at famous resto-bars.  Never really put much thought into the importance of attending Secondary school, more so getting into college.  But you changed that for me and showed me that there was no harm in trying to dream big.

 

Now that I’m done with school and trying to find my way in this world, I think about how far you’ve made it and how proud I am to have you as a Father.  I know you can be strict at times, but it turned out to be for the better.  You are my strength and inspiration, I don’t think I could ever get to where I am today without the love and support from you and Mom.

 

Thank you for everything Dad…

– For letting me watch Disney movies every night just so I wouldn’t cry when you and Mom went to work

– For making my first ever mix tape of The Carpenters just so I could sleep after watching Hocus Pocus

– For serenading us with your Barry Manilow favorites

– For providing for me

– For never pressuring me with my grades

– For trying your best to make me happy

– For supporting me in every crazy little thing that I do

– For accepting the fact that I can’t really sing as great as my siblings… 🙂

 

Dad, I will never get tired of listening to your stories because I know there’s still a lot you have to share.  Know that even if there are people who try to bring you down, you’ll always have me and our family to back you up.

 

You are the most generous person I know.  And even if you put up that strict facade, deep down you’ve got that soft spot. 🙂

 

Though I don’t always say it, you mean the world to me.

Thank you for being the music in my life.

You are my Rock Star. And I will always be your number One fan.

I love you Daddy.

Happy Father’s Day! 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 9:32 am

    aaawww, Honey! Your post made me cry! im so touched. happy father’s day to your dad! 🙂

    • Honey Cortes permalink*
      June 20, 2011 10:47 am

      Aww Nims, thanks for taking the time to read my post and for retweeting it.:)

Leave a Reply

