Skip to content

And I begin anew… =)

July 11, 2011

It’s been several weeks since my last post and my erratic blogging is breaking my at least once-a-week-post promise this year… 😦 Honestly, the past few weeks went by fast like a roller coaster ride and I have been pre-occupied (would you believe?).  But being busy these days isn’t enough reason for not sharing what I’ve been up to. To finally break my blogging hiatus, I’d like to share another chapter of my life with you guys.

Ok, so about three weeks ago, I was a few days away from ending Level 2 of my Cantonese course.  I took the course thinking that it would make job hunting easier.  But it was also getting sort of costly and didn’t want my Dad to pay for my classes.  So I really wanted to start working to be able to afford the next 5 levels.  So while Dad was away, I finally found the courage to apply for about 8 companies (and this was after days and days of praying hard).  So I sent out my resumes one Wednesday afternoon and almost forgot to send out to one that I found in the weekend paper.  The following morning, as expected there was no response.  But when I returned from Canto class, the last company I emailed replied to me and asked when I was available for an interview.  I thought, maybe Monday the following week was best so I could prepare and not worry about Canto class.   So, I gave HR a call BUT they asked if I could meet them that Friday because one of the bosses was going abroad for a week.  I said YES.  But when it finally sinked in I PANICKED!  I didn’t have anything decent to wear for an interview so that same afternoon my aunts got me shopping.  There was a mixed feeling of hope and fear.

The following day, I went for the interview that lasted for about two hours.  I felt that it went well, but I couldn’t tell if they liked me or would at least find my work experience valid.  From the office I had to travel to another venue to meet the F&B Director.  My interview with the big boss lasted 5 minutes.  I knew he was busy but at that point I honestly didn’t know if I made an impression for him to hire me.  I went home tired that day, but happy.

Come Monday, I checked my email and there was no response… it was already around 4 in the afternoon and just when I thought I had to move on my phone rang.  The HR representative asked me about the interview with their boss.  I told her it was short but I thought it was alright.  I heard the happy tone in her voice and I swear I felt my heart jump when I heard her say… “That’s good ’cause I’m about to give you an offer.”   To cut things short, I was hired that day and started work the following week.

I am now officially the new Marketing Executive of Chiram Strategic Group.  It’s similar but slightly different from my last job.  There’s more writing involved and I now go over menus since we handle 5 speacialty restaurants, Shakey’s Pizza HK, and a trading company called Equip Asia  (Click here to know more).    After that brief backgrounder, I’m now happy to introduce to you our Marketing Team. 🙂

From L-R: Joanne, me, Mirelle, Dannis, Roy, Yvonne, and Louis
From L-R: Our Graphic Designers Dannis (Shakey’s HK) and Roy (Specialty Restos)
L-R: Roy, Yvonne (Marketing Supervisor) and Louis (Marketing Assistant)
Ruby Tuesday’s Giant Brownie a la Mode. YUM! 🙂
Birthday girl Louis with the birthday dessert! 🙂
L-R: Joanne (Our Marketing Manager), Roy (with the Shakey’s box), and Dannis (hiding)
Mirelle (Marketing Officer for Shakey’s HK)
I sit opposite Dannis, but Roy’s there too because they usually discuss design stuff.
And this is my desk!!! It’s messy as always. I guess some things just never change. 🙂
And this is what I wore on my first day. 🙂

Yes, I now where skirts/dresses more often and at least do simple make up every morning.  Before I use to dress up for meetings only, but now I gotta try to look my best everyday.  It’s a big change, but somehow I’m liking it.:)  What do you think?

I’ve only been working for a week, but even if the whole team is new it really feels like home.  They’re very open and helpful and I appreciate the fact that they always make an effort to speak English because I’m the only Filipino on the team (and if I’m not mistaken, in the entire office!).  So thank you God for this wonderful blessing.  I didn’t only get a new job, I found new friends as well. 🙂

My apologies if this was so long, I just felt like sharing this milestone. 🙂

‘Til my next post.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 12:20 am

    you look great honeypots! 😀 i’m so happy for you! hugs!

    • Honey Cortes permalink*
      July 18, 2011 9:20 pm

      hehehe… chalamats Baneks! I’m happy for you too… kasi lagi mo na ksama si Daddy and hindi ka na maxadong stressed. 🙂 *hugs*

  2. July 11, 2011 1:18 am

    Wow! Glad you got the job. Good luck sa future endeavors.

    • Honey Cortes permalink*
      July 18, 2011 9:20 pm

      Thanks Ervin! Ikaw rin, good luck and God bless din!

  3. July 12, 2011 9:56 am

    Wow chuchal 🙂 I’m happy for you Honey 🙂

    • Honey Cortes permalink*
      July 18, 2011 9:21 pm

      Thanks Kuya Borks! 🙂

  4. July 27, 2011 5:37 pm

    Congrats, Honey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

