Skip to content

To the man that I love…

September 25, 2012

To the man that I’ve loved for the past 8 years of my life,

My how time has passed, and my oh my how much we’ve grown. Today, our relationship turns another year older. Looking back, I know the road wasn’t easy and despite the distance you continue to stay by my side. As a kid surrounded by the idea of fairy tales and happy endings, I had always dreamt of having my own happily ever after, picturing the “one” as if I knew him inside out from all the romance novels that I had read. Little did I know that experiencing true love would be nothing like what they said. I push my way further back into my memories, back to that faithful day when I first met you. It was in a high school classroom, junior year, the seat plan got shuffled and out of all the people I could end up sitting next to, it just had to be you. There was no “love at first sight” in fact I didn’t even feel a spark, there was only the casual exchange of hellos and you asking me for an extra pad paper. But God must have had plans of his own, ‘cause when I prayed to find that one person whom I can love and will love me in return, he must’ve seen you. In time those daily hellos turned into lots of smiles and inexplicable moments of bliss. Oh the thought of puppy love and how happy it made me feel to know that I’d be seeing you almost everyday ‘til we graduated.

From the very beginning I had told you how complicated my life can get, but the courtship lasted for almost a year and then that faithful day came, at 12:21 pm of September 25, you asked me to be girlfriend and I said yes. The first few months were difficult, and soon we saw the reality of being in a commitment. With school and all my extra-curricular activities, time was something I could rarely give. There would be arguments, dropped phone calls, and mixed feelings of frustration and sadness. Things weren’t going as planned; there were expectations not met and misunderstandings brought about by miscommunication. But we got through the first hurdle and promised to change for the best of both individuals and commit ourselves to a work in progress.

At 8 years (and counting =p), I believe that much has changed, don’t get me wrong… there’s still that dose of lows mixed in with all the highs and its pretty much a rollercoaster ride, but we wouldn’t be here today if it weren’t for all those crazy and painful things. I’m really glad we somehow made it through, and I want to take this opportunity to say thank you. Thank you for being there for me all these years, for supporting me with my endeavours even if it means getting hurt in the process. Thank you for helping me find myself and accepting both the good and bad side of me, for making me feel pretty even in my utmost state of ugliness, for never giving up even during our lowest times, for being my most trusted confidant and friend, and of course for loving me through and through. Though we celebrate this day apart, I want you to know that I love you. You are God’s greatest gift to me, and I look forward to the day when we will finally be able spend our lives together. Happy 8th Anniversary my one and only!

Loving you always,

Your Honey

One Comment leave one →
  1. theliftblog permalink
    September 26, 2012 12:02 am

    Very nice sentiment to your loved one!

Leave a Reply

